Reunited at last!

19 Jun

I am officially back from NorCal for the summer! And while most of the four days that I have been back have been dedicated to tackling the black hole that is my room, a few baking adventures have taken place. Thank goodness!

On Saturday we made clover-leaf rolls. No one took any pictures of them, but I did take a picture of the braided ‘loaf’ I made out of the extra. We used a recipe that came with our KitchenAid mixer, a variation on this.

On Sunday (Happy Father’s Day!!) we made these amazing ‘Ultimate Pecan Sticky Buns’ for the father. They were rather time consuming, but the deliciousness that we ended up with was totally worth it. It had a much nicer, soft, cloudy dough even after baking than our normal overnight cinnamon rolls. We used the recipe for Bon Appétit and added in some extra cinnamon-brown-sugar mixture along with the pecans for the filling. I never did get a good picture of the rolls though…sorry.

We also made some delicious oven-onion rings and zucchini fries. So tasty and crunchy! I think it was just dipped in seasoned four, dipped in egg mixture, dipped in lightly olive oiled panko bread crumbs, and baked in the oven.

On Monday I helped mom make a lovely blackberry Cabernet sorbet. Blackberry juice, wine, a little honey, and a whipped egg white. So refreshing (too bad it wasn’t a hot NorCal night). Some dark chocolate curls finished it off. Unfortunately, the only picture I have is after mom dumped all the extra shavings onto mine…

I may make cookies for my cousin-in-law who is fixing my bikes… Or chocolate zucchini bread…we are being buried in vegetables!

Leave a Reply

